City of Portland - COPPEA Chapter

Local 17 Union Representatives for COPPEA Members

Amy Bowles, 800-783-0017 ext. 118
Behnaz Nelson, 800-783-0017 ext. 112

Wanna Support Portland Parks

The Fix Our Parks campaign will be filming an ad this Saturday, Sept. 20 and they need your help!

The ad will be a montage of real Portlanders singing a riff on “This Land is Your Land.” The campaign is looking for Portlanders of all ages, abilities, and communities to be represented. They will be filming in Creston Park from 8 am to 11:30 am, and Grant Park from 1:45 to 4 pm.

To RSVP, visit: The production team will follow up with you about specific times.

Know Your Rights!

2.7% COLA Goes Into Effect on July 1

COLAA cost-of-living-adjustment (COLA) of 2.7% for City of Portland employees will go into effect on July 1, 2014. The COLA will first appear in paychecks dated July 10 (reflecting two days of the increase).

COPPEA Chapter Member Urges City Council to Approve Transportation User Fee

Paul Cone Addresses City Council
Paul Cone addresses the Portland City Council on May 29.

Local 17 COPPEA Chapter Secretary/Treasurer Paul Cone testified before the City Council on May 29 in support of the Transportation User Fee. This fee will provide much needed funds for transportation projects throughout the City. Cone, who works as a GIS Technician II at PBOT, said: "A stable and reliable funding stream is crucial for achieving PBOT's mission to plan, build, manage and maintain an effective and safe transportation system."  

You can watch the full meeting and testimony on the City's website: Paul's testimony is at the 1:47:30 mark.

Thanks for Voting 'No' on 26-156!

NO on 26-156On May 20, Portland citizens voted overwhelmingly to keep water and sewer services within the control of the City of Portland. The margin of victory was nearly 3:1. This decisive victory means that Portland citizens will not have to worry about a similar ballot measure for years to come, and that hundreds of COPPEA jobs and environmental programs have been saved!

Thank you to those COPPEA Chapter members, friends, and family who committed time and money to the campaign. This victory simply would not have been possible without the grassroots efforts of those volunteers who did everything from posting yard-signs to canvassing neighborhoods in the community.

Right-to-Work Measure Dropped from
Nov. Ballot in Oregon

On Mar. 3, several measures were dropped from the Oregon ballot, including one to make Oregon a Right-to-Work state. Gov. John Kitzhaber had been working with labor and business groups behind closed doors to reach an agreement. This is great news for Local 17 COPPEA Chapter members! Read more in The Oregonian.

COPPEA Chapter VP Appointed to
Local 17 Executive Board

Rachel WhitesideCOPPEA Chapter Vice President, Rachel Whiteside, joined the Local 17 Executive Board in February 2014. She was appointed by the board in order to fill a trustee position vacated by Brenda Sevilla-Miranda, who was unable to serve the remainder of her term.

Whiteside is a City Planner II for the City of Portland Bureau of Development Services. She has been an active member of COPPEA for many years, and a strong supporter of COPPEA's affiliation with Local 17, which became official in Sept. 2013.

"Local 17 has provided an amazing level of service to COPPEA for the last three years and I welcome the chance to do the same for Local 17," said Whiteside.

COPPEA LogoMembership Meetings

The COPPEA Chapter meets at noon on the first Tuesday of each month. For details on the next meeting, please click here.

Sept. 2014 Meeting Notes

Contract Information

Current contract is valid through June 30, 2017.

2013-2017 Contract
2010-2013 Contract


Gerry Verhoef

Rachel Whiteside

Paul Cone


Bureau of Environmental Services
Victoria Busch
Karyn Hanson
Angie Tomlinson
Ana Brophy
Andrew Neuman
John Wilson
Stephen Rae

Bureau of Technology Services
Keith Holland
Brian Ventura
Katherine Enriques

Bureau of Transportation
Ruthanne Bennett
John Wood
Cate Perry
Gudrun (Goodie) Free

Bureau of Development Services
Lizbeth Dance
Priscilla Partch

Bureau of Planning
Tyler Bump

Water Bureau
Jamie Wilde
Mia Sabanovic
Stephen Ngai

Shared Bureaus
(Fire, Police, Revenue, BGS, City Attorney’s Office)

Karen Obana

Bureau of Parks and Recreation
Aulani (Jeremiah) Johnson

July 2014
March 2014
April 2013
October 2012
February 2012
November 2011
September 2011