City of Seattle

Local 17 Union Representatives for City of Seattle Members

Kate Garrow, 206-328-7321 ext. 133 (DEEL, DPD, Muni Court, HSD, SDOT, SPD)
Guadalupe Perez, 206-328-7321 ext. 109 (City Light, DoIT, Fire, Housing, Neighborhoods, Seattle Center)
Charles Primm, 206-328-7321 ext. 107 (Arts, Econ. Dev., Ethics, FAS, Law, OCR, Parks, Retirement, SPU)

Bargaining News - March 2015

VEBA Vote Results for Retirement Eligible Members

Thanks to all of you in the Master and Municipal Court contracts who participated in the recent vote on whether to continue the Voluntary Employees’ Beneficiary Association (VEBA) plan through 2015. The ballots have closed, and retirement-eligible members in both contracts voted to continue the VEBA plan.

The VEBA plan is a medical savings account designed to help defray medical expenses when you retire. You can read more about the VEBA program at the City of Seattle via our Frequently Asked Questions.

Did You Miss the Retirement Trainings?
View the PowerPoint Online!

A series of Local 17 trainings on the City of Seattle retirement plan just wrapped up. If you weren't able to attend one of the trainings, you can view the presentation below (click on the image to link to the PDF version).

Retirement Presentation

You can also learn more about the plan via the frequently asked questions, and two documents from the City of Seattle, at the links below.

Get to Know Your Retirement Plan - Local 17 FAQs
Retirement Report - City of Seattle, April 2012
Executive Summary - City of Seattle, April 2012

Coalition of City Unions Reaches out to Mayor Murray and City Council about Retirement

Read the letter that the Coalition of City Unions submitted to Mayor Ed Murray and members of the Seattle City Council on May 8 that encourages them to work with unions on a sustainable and ample retirement system that can be a model for the nation.


Seattle Chapter Meetings

The next meeting is on:
Thursday • June 11
12 Noon - 1:00 p.m.
SMT Room 4080

2015 Chapter Meeting Schedule

Meeting Minutes

August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014

Contract Information

2014 Agreement

Important Details of the 2014 Tentative Agreement

Previous Contracts

Master Contract
(Prof/Tech/Sr. Business/Sr. Professional/Admin. Support)

Muni Court Agreement

City of Seattle website with Union Contracts

MOU - Contract Extension 2011-2013

MOU - 2010 Furlough Agreement

MOU - Contract Extension 2010

Seattle Chapter Officers & REC Delegates

Below is the list of officers and Regional Executive Committee (REC) delegates.

President: Darlene Flynn
Vice President: Bradley Wilburn
Secretary-Treasurer: Ulysses Hillard

REC Delegates

Doris Anderson
Heidi Baumgardner
Kathy Boone
Mary Davis
Rhonda Denet-Weems
Regina Elder
Darlene Flynn
Elias Gebreslasie
Alma Harris
Stefanie Hegland
Ulysses Hillard
Vicki Jones
Denise Krownbell
Vicki Lord
Timothy Lowry
Dan Martin
Karen Messo
Dan O'Sullivan
Art Pederson
Leonard Piha
Tracey Puffer
Steve Reynolds
Cynthia Robinson
Timothy Rood
Julien Rust
Joe Steinmeyer
Dianne Thomas
Ariska Thompson
Linda Timmen
Stuart Vitagliano
Bradley Wilburn
Darren Wilson
Allan Yamaguchi
Danny Young
Patricia Young

REC Alternates

Deborah Pate
Brett Ronneberg
Nosrat Zareh

MLKC Labor Council Delegates

Kate Garrow
Ulysses Hillard
Guadalupe Perez
Darren Wilson


See the list below for the names of Local 17 Stewards throughout the City of Seattle.

Your Bargaining Team

Thank you to everyone who volunteered to represent their fellow members on the Bargaining Teams for our new contract. Your Bargaining Team members for the following contracts are:

2013 Master contract Team

Master Contract Team
Jeff Bender (SDOT), Denise Krownbell (City Light), Terra McCaffree (HSD), Dan O'Sullivan (City Light), Ariska Thompson (SPU), Clay Thompson (DPD), Patricia Young (Parks & Rec)

Municipal Court (Probation Counselors) Team
Jason Grant, Tonya Dotson

June 2014
February 2014
November 2013
March 2013