Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL)

Local 17 Union Representative for DOL Members
Licensing Services & Pro-Rate and Fuel Tax Auditors

Alexis Young: 206-328-7321 ext. 103

2019-21 contract negotiations have begun!

Your Local 17 state employee bargaining team (pictured at right) met with management on April 25 to present our first set of proposals for the 2019-2021 contract negotiations.

The team used the hundreds of Local 17 contract survey responses, as well as experiences in their respective offices, to develop work-rule proposals. While wage increases continue to be the top priority in this contract, other items on the priority list include: implementing tools for succession planning, getting more training for union Stewards, and having better access to new employees to help them understand the importance of being a union member. Economic discussions will be held closer to the release of the state’s revenue forecast.

Negotiations continue on May 30 when management will present their first set of proposals and likely some initial responses to ours. Stay tuned for more robust updates as we get farther into the bargaining process.

If you have any questions, please contact your Union Representative.

DOL-LSR Labor Management Committee

On a quarterly basis, your Local 17 Union Rep and members are meeting with representatives from other unions as well as Department of Licensing (DOL) management in a Labor Management Committee (LMC) meeting to discuss current issues impacting our LSR members.

Meeting Notes
Feb. 13, 2018

2017-19 State Contract

Your 2017-19 contract was approved by the legislature on June 30, 2017.

In accepting the terms of the new contract, the following changes will be enacted on July 1, 2017:

  • A 6% cost-of-living increase, which includes a 2% increase in July 2017, a 2% increase in July 2018, and a 2% increase in January 2019.
  • Additional targeted salary increases for more than 80% of our members
  • An increase in vacation accrual (for the first time in decades!)
  • An increase in the number of rest hours paid after 16 hours of work in a 24 hour period
  • The ability to grieve workplace behavior investigations
  • Improved supervisory pay for DOL-LSRs
  • A 53% increase in the night shift premium
  • Flexibility for employees' whose day off falls on a holiday
  • Maintainance of the healthcare premium-sharing ratio (85/15)

But our work is not done yet!

Members must be prepared to strongly lobby legislators to pass the state employee contracts. The funding of this agreement and all state employee union contracts will be determined by the 2017 legislature that must approve a budget to absorb the cost of the agreements. Lawmakers will be challenged by this while also considering the needs within the entire state budget including a State Supreme Court mandate that billions of new funding must be provided to basic education.

Additionally, Local 17 staff and members will challenge the State agencies covered by this process to continue to look at those classifications at DOL, DOT and WSP that did not receive special targeted classification salary increases. Members will be needed to get involved in this process as well.

You can read more about this year's negotiations, and find the details of the 2017-19 agreement below.

Summary of Changes

Full tentative agreement (red-lined)

Compensation Appendicies C and E

State employee birthdates prohibited from release to Freedom Foundation

In the on-going court case between public sector unions in Washington state -- including Local 17 -- and the Freedom Foundation, the Court Commissioner this week prohibited the release of state employee birthdates to the anti-union group pending the outcome of the appeal. Since this could take up to a year to work its way through the Appeals Court, this is a victory for state union members who are concerned about safeguarding their personal information.

In compliance with the Public Records Act (RCW 42.56.250), state employee names and work emails have been released to the Freedom Foundation. Local 17 will be working with other unions in the 2017 legislative session to ammend the requirements of this law to ensure that your privacy is protected.


Current Contract

To access an electronic version of your 2017-19 Collective Bargaining Agreement, click here.

DOL Shared Leave List

Due to serious health conditions, the following DOL employees have exhausted their leave balances and are in need of Shared Leave. If you would like to share your leave, or are in need of shared leave, please contact Human Resources.

Donaree Chouinard - North Bend
Loren Foster - Shoreline
Regina Lewis - Seattle
Angie Medina - Parkland
Suzie Moceri - Spokane
Enough Rinquist - Puyallup

DOL Pro-Rate and Fuel Tax Auditors

Chapter Officers & Stewards

Donna Blume (Olympia) - dblume@dol.wa.gov

Vice President:
Barb Culpepper- (Spokane) bculpepper@dol.wa.gov

Kenneth Munnell (Seattle)

Donna Blume
Barb Culpepper
Doug Gill
Ken Munnell

DOL Licensing Services

Chapter Officers & Stewards

President: Michael Wetsch (Bellingham)

Vice President: Vacant



Anacortes - Vacant
Bellingham - Mike Wetsch
Bremerton - Pablo Nichipor
Mt. Vernon - Joseph Kristofzski
Oak Harbor - Vacant
PT Angeles - Vacant
Poulsbo - Vacant

DT Seattle - Vivian Helwig
Everett - Billy Hicks
Lynnwood - Marian Harris-Jones
Shoreline - Vacant
Smokey Point - James Cuyler, Rose Duey and Gayle Sakshaug

Bellevue - Heather Hoffman
Kent - Jerry Bond
N. Bend - Vacant
Renton - Laurie Fuller and Irina Poliansky
W. Seattle - Vacant

Federal Way - Vacant
Lacey - Ananda Tonge
Parkland - Vacant
Puyallup - William Walker and Toni Kornec
Shelton - Joni Hart
Tacoma - Vacant

Hoquiam - Vacant
Centralia - Vacant
Kelso - Ashley Graham
N. Vancouver - Elizabeth Guajardo
E. Vancouver - Teresa Clement, and Christy Bryans Duffy

Kennewick - Elizabeth Sanchez-Venegas
Sunnyside - Irene Sanchez
Union Gap - Tilli Miller
Walla Walla - Vacant

Ellensburg - Vacant
Moses Lake - Adolf Vasquez
Omak - Vidal Arciniega
Wenatchee - Cristin Stubbs

Clarkston - Suzanne Webster
Colville - Vacant
Pullman - Suzanne Webster
Spokane Valley - Chris Arp Sr. and Suzie Moceri
Spokane: Chris Arp Jr.

State Negotiations Newsletters

August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016